Friday, December 3, 2010

The Mortal Instruments Series REVIEW


My Review:

My Rating: 7/5

Ohhhh yes I meant 7 out of 5. Now I know it may seem that I'm just really nice when I rate books but that's because I chose a lot of my favorites to review first. I actually was planning to write 3 seperate reviews for these books but I read them all in a span of 4 days so I decided to just review them all together. Now, I actually finished these about 2 weeks ago but this is the first free time I've had since then to sit down and do this.

What could I possibly say about these books other than ntejkshfojdaflnskldgjdkznfksnf (that's my excitement noise) I'm sooooooo excited for the next one to come out! The characters in these books are some of my all time favorite book characters actually. Even though it`s a fantasy novel these characters are so real it`s shocking actually.
I know I`ve said it before but I absolutely adore Clare`s writing style. There`s nothing about it that I would change. It`s a mixture of the perfect amount of back story and description with action and dialogue. There is, of course, a romance aspect to the book but it doesn`t over power the whole book like it does with others.

You start out on a very interesting note too, which I liked, so if you`re one of those readers who hates slow beginnings than this is the book for you!
I know I should talk more about the storyline but I`m scared that if I start I won`t be able to stop and I`ll give it all away!! You first enter the story with Clary, the main character, and her best friend Simon waiting in line to enter a club. Once there Clary notices some suspicious characters that no one else seems to notice. She follows them into another room where she witnesses them kill what she assumes is another person (it was a demon) this is when she meets Jase, Alec and Isabelle. They are shadowhunters (I`ve already explained what those are when reviewing Clockwork Angel) from there she`s wisked into their world when her mother goes missing and she learns she is also a shadowhunter.

From there the story takes many insane twists and turns. Each more shocking and wonderful than the last! But I`ll stop there or else I may start giving things away...
Definitely recommend this to EVERYONE!

oh gosh

I'm sooooo sorry I've been gone for nearly a month!!!

It's been crazy busy here with all the moving and what not, I've been meaning to do my review on The Mortal Instruments series. I re-read the series and finished it in 4 days!!! I love them but they were even better than I remembered! But I'll be quiet now.. and save it for my review :)

Hugs, Kisses & Candy


Coop

Saturday, October 30, 2010

Fall

So a few days ago there was finally a warm sunny day here so Michael and I decided to spend the day outside. He got to play in the leaves :)








Hope you guys are taking advantage of your good weather (if you're having it) it's raining here now :(

when was the last time you played in the leaves?

Hugs, Kisses & Candy

Coop

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Clockwork Angel Review


Magic is dangerous--but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London's Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What's more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa's power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by--and torn between--two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm's length...everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world...and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

My Review

My Rating: 5/5

Where can I even start? I was worried I wouldn't love this new series as much as I love The Mortal Instruments series, but Clare didn't let me down. This book was full of more fantastic characters! What I love about her writing so much is that all her characters feel so real. They all have deep feelings and back stories, a lot of them are shrouded in mystery.

The main character Tessa is a fairly average looking, shy american girl who has come to England to be with her brother after the death of their aunt. In England she is kidnapped and held hostage; it is there that she is told that she`s a shape changer. But not like other shape changers, she`s different. She has the ability to access the memories and thoughts of the person she changes into, which makes her quite a valuable tool. 

Enter William Herondale. Gorgeous but a bit odd, also a shadowhunter. For those of you who haven`t read her other books: Shadowhunters are half angel and half human. God placed them here to protect mundanes (humans) from demons and downworlders (warlocks, werewolves etc.) they are the basis of all these books. So the Shadowhunters save Tessa and she works with them to find her brother who was also taken as a hostage.

When I first heard about these books they didn`t sound like anything I would read but wow. Just fantastic. They have an amazing storyline and even better writing. This world is so obviously fantasy but Clare makes it a reality. She has made it so that this whole fantasy world exists in our world. The Shadow world, as she calls it, is hidden from mundanes by glamours. Glamours are made by Shadowhunters to hide themselves and buildings etc. from mundane view. Instead of a bar filled with downworlders, mundanes see a bank, or a park. This simple but effective idea of Clare's makes her fantasy world more believable. 

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. It's fantastic. 

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Awesome Store

You know what store is amazing? Jysk.

Sounds strange, I know. But trust me. It's like IKEA on crack. It's wonderful.

TAKE ME TO JYSK!  <<<<< DOOOO IT!!!

Upcoming Review.

Okay so I was planning on reviewing the next book in the trilogy I was starting but then Clockwork Angel came out. EXCITEMENT!!!!! So everything is on hold until I finish/review Clockwork Angel. I'm nearly done it already, it's wonderful.

Hugs, Kisses & Candy

Coop

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Wake Review


Not all dreams are sweet.
For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people's dreams is getting old. Especially the falling dreams, the naked-but-nobody- notices dreams, and the sex-crazed dreams. Janie's seen enough fantasy booty to last her a lifetime.
She can't tell anybody about what she does -- they'd never believe her, or worse, they'd think she's a freak. So Janie lives on the fringe, cursed with an ability she doesn't want and can't control.
Then she falls into a gruesome nightmare, one that chills her to the bone. For the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else's twisted psyche. She is a participant....


My Review 
My Rating: 4/5

This is definitely a well written and intriguing book. The only reason I give it 4 out of 5 is that I've read books that are even more amazing than this one.The book starts out with flash backs from Janie's past, which was a bit confusing for me since I'm one to not read the time stamps on each entry of the book. Speaking of the time stamps, I loved them. They were used comically in some parts. She would be pondering something then the next time stamp would be like 5 minutes later and all it would say is "still nothing." then ten minutes later, "I'm going to bed." I don't know what got the author to write like this, but it works well for this book.


I liked that it was short (210 pages) and wasn't filled with any boring bits. It was totally action packed and interesting, anyone who has a hard time getting through books should try reading this one. I honestly gave it to my fiance to read since he rarely finishes a book. Even he likes it!


The characters are fairly well done, they have good back ground stories. She could have gone more in depth with the characters, but then it would have been a longer book..and that would ruin one of the things I love most about it. It's a speed read. It leaves me wanting more. As much as I wish I could have more, I prefer books that leave me going "damn! Why can't it be longer!!" instead of, "could you have rambled more?" 


But I can have more, in the sequels!! Oh yes ladies and gentlemen, this is a trilogy.. thank god! What you need to know about this book is that its sci-fi and you should definitely read it. It's about a girl named Janie who's being raised by an alcoholic mother (I know, sounds like virtually every book you've ever read) BUT WAIT! Janie is sucked into other people's dreams if they are asleep in the same room she's in!!!!! Which makes life pretty hard since at least one person tends to doze off in class at high school.


My final word, so that I won't ruin the book on you, is that this is a super good and fast read and you should definitely pick up a copy.


Hugs, Kisses & Candy
Coop.

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Next Review!!

So I've decided that Wake will be my next review, check it out in "upcoming reviews"

like the new header? I know I do, that's my son Michael. :) Things have been pretty crazy here so I haven't been updating. Sorry, we're in the midst of moving to the new house!!! :) Move in day is November 1st!!!! I'm sooooo excited!

Hugs, Kisses & Candy

Coop

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

A Summer In The Land Of Skin REVIEW

Twenty-five-year-old Anna Medina abandons her life in California and arrives emotionally numb in Bellingham, Washington to make peace with her father's death. Seeking out his former best friend--a fellow guitar maker, Bender--Anna hopes to reconnect with her father and gain insight into his past. As an observer of life, Anna spends the beginning of her time in Bellingham glued to her window soaking up the scene, until she actually becomes part of it. Falling in with a captivating couple, Lucy and Arlan, Anna takes up permanent residence on their couch. So begins a summer filled with drinking, music, and--most important--the discovery that the only way to get free of her past is to embrace it.

My Review
Rating: 5/5

Now I know it seems like I just rate books too easily since my last was a high rating too but these books deserve it!!!! "Everyone has a summer that changes them forever." So true isn't it? I think the reason I love this book so much is that it takes me back to my life changing summer, I think it would do the same for you. 

It's an amazing story about coming to terms with the past and with yourself. Anna goes on a hunt to, as she says, kill her father "because he's not dead enough". Her father committed suicide when Anna was a child, and she herself has been suffering from depression ever since. She goes on a search to find her dad's ex-best friend, and co-worker, hoping to find some answers from him.

Once she makes it to town you meet some of the most realistic characters ever created. I honestly read this book and wondered if the author and made these characters from people she knew in her life changing summer. They are so real and so interesting it makes you feel like you know them personally. It's amazing. My favorite is Lucinda (Lucy) her strange best friend. Anna said something about Lucy that really spoke to me, "That's what allows her to be reckless with other people's hearts. She doesn't know what it's like to have regrets. That's part of what makes her irresistible--her magical immunity to what-if." 

That bolded section is really what made Lucy's character so interesting to me. She operates outside of what society expects of us. She works on the thought that we are all going to die so there's no point in beating around the bush and tip toeing around others feelings, and the truth.

I love her writing style. I highlighted so many passages that I wanted to quote, they are so beautiful. Her writing is so poetic and it captures human emotion so well that I caught myself many times going "oh my gosh, that is how it feels..." about emotions I've always struggled to explain. If I could buy copies and demand people read it, I would. This is a book I truly think everyone should read. Absolutely stunning.

I could ramble about this book forever, but I won't I promise. :)

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Blog Award


YAYYY i got my first blog award from the wonderful Among The Muses so apparently I'm supposed to pass this award along to other blogs I've recently discovered. I'll do this as soon as I get the chance, probably tomorrow or the day after.

Hugs Kisses & Candy,
Coop

Monday, August 30, 2010

Sorry

so sorry its taking me so long, my next review should be done any day now!!!

Hugs Kisses and Candy,
Cooper

Saturday, August 28, 2010

GIANT VENT!!!

I hate parents who let their ignorance rule them. I saw someone with a baby about 10-11 months old forward facing in a car seat.. i mentioned that she shouldn't be turned around til 20 lbs AND 1 year at the least and the lady shrugged and said her daughter liked the view. BAHHHHHHHHHH! your child should be RF as long as humanly possible!!!!! in an accident infants/toddlers spinal cords have been shown to stretch like 2 inches.. they only need to stretch 1/4 of an inch to snap and kill your child!!!! if you slam on the breaks your baby's neck could break... absolutely ridiculous...the lady even had her daughter in a convertible seat so it wouldn't cost her any extra money to keep her RF...I hope she gets ticketed.

if you have a baby/child or know anyone who does I suggest you watch that.

Monday, August 23, 2010

First Guest Blogger!

This blog was written by: Sheridan Ripley –Hypnobabies Childbirth Instructor, Hypno-doula, Proud VBAC mom, Loving Lactivist, Positive Birth Story Collector, mom of 3 Busy Boys and author of The Top Three Tips to Enjoy Your Birth

Pushed by Jennifer Block

Pushed:  The Painful Truth about Childbirth and Modern Maternity Care
by, Jennifer Block
Wow, what a book!  When I read books from the library, I put little slips of paper on the pages I want to go back and look at.  You should see my book; there is easily over 20 pieces of paper sticking out of the top.  This tells me I need to buy this book!  I am just sad I didn’t buy it in the first place, as my library copy is now past due and I don’t have time to take notes on all I wanted to.  So this may be a brief review, mostly because if I wrote ALL my thoughts it would become a book itself.  J 
Who is the audience for this book?   Any person interested in birth.   I would love to see this be a text in a college class to help people think about birth before they are pregnant.  It would be wonderful in sociology or a women’s studies class.  Really everyone of childbearing age should read this book!
I loved the way the book started; with a hurricane causing a hospital to change the medical way they normally handled birth due to limited supplies/manpower/energy.  They cancelled the planned inductions for the week; they sent moms home if they were not in active labor.  The staff saw a LOT of normal births, instead of the typically medically managed births.  Because they were not using pitocin “We had no cases of fetal distress during labor and respiratory distress of neonates following delivery…. And an incredibly low cesarean rate.”  Wow, what a concept, let women progress through their birthing time on their bodies own timetable and you have better outcomes for babies and moms?  Revolutionary!  
The book just gets better and better.  It touches on inductions, cesareans, vbacs, unassisted births, home midwives, doulas and much more.  There were 2 scary scenes that I would say pregnant moms trying to GIP (gestate in peace) may want to avoid.  Page 203-207 and Chapter 7.  The rest is safe. 
Frankly this book really made me think about birth and my rights as a woman.  The choices I make during my births and the power I DO have.  It made me also more aware of the way the government/OBs/insurance companies, are trying to take away my choices.  This should be a woman’s issue, but it isn’t embraced by the women’s groups, they see it as a medical issue.  But we need to remember normal birth does not need to be a medical event! 
The book ends with this thought by Jennifer, after commenting on how the goal of having a healthy baby is used to scare women into doing things that are not necessarily evidence based,  “Today women have unprecedented access to the information they need to make the best decisions for themselves-and therefore the best decisions for their babies.  They are in fact in a far better position to make evidence-based decisions than their doctors.  They have a right to make those decisions, and they should make those decisions.  The goal is to have a healthy family.”
I think this is SO true.   Women of the world, take the power back!  Inform yourselves of our choices, empower yourselves, and choose to have a healthy family!   This is where a good INDEPENDENT childbirth class is so great (not hospital based) Because we can share the information on what the choices are, the pros and cons of them, caregiver options, birthing options as well as basic childbirth information all together in one class.  To help families figure out the best choices to help them have the best birth possible. 
This is a MUST read!

A link to Sheridan's wonderful blog can be found on the right hand side of my blog >>> 
over there lol. But just in case, here it is again: Enjoy Birth Blog her blog is so fantastic and inspiring :) To be honest this is such a fantastic review I plan to hop over to my library this week and get a copy to read. :)

Sunday, August 22, 2010

The many reasons baby wearing is AMAZING

woot woot
there's the link to an amazing baby wearing article. 

Hugs, Kisses & Candy
Coop

Saturday, August 21, 2010

About Me

Hey, check out my about me!!! For some reason it's not showing up in my pages line up.. I'll try to fix it.

Hugs, Kisses & Candy
Coop

Dinner For One

so here's what's sure to be the first of many posts about myself and what's going on.

So today I was supposed to get up and take M (Michael) to play group, but an 8 am wake up just wasn't calling my name today..so here I am sitting on my bum talking to you guys. It's really boring here, Jason is at work for 14 hours today; so it's just me and M (michael). I'm procrastinating making dinner for one... 

I hate dinner for one...

It's lame.



Plus, the dinning room wall sucks at making conversation...

Hugs Kisses & Candy
Coop

It's Time, (Cast and Crew Credits/Cooptionary)

sooo, it's time to make good on my promise to talk about my "every day life". So let's get started...

Cast:
Michael (my 6 month old son)
Jason (my fiance)
K (my mom)
R (my dad)
Kylee (my best friend)
Caitlin (BFF since diapers)
Myah (my mother in law)
Tammy (my BG bestie)
Teagan (Tammy's son)

More will be added as I go along..

Short forms I tend to use a lot:

ERF = extended rear-facing, which refers to leaving your child rear facing in a car for longer than the minimum the law gives us. If you don't know the benefits I suggest you look them up.. chances are that I'll make a post about it..
BF/EBF/EBFB = breast feeding/exclusive breast feeding/exclusively breast fed baby. If you don't know what that is....... well then there's more wrong with you than this cooptionary can fix lol.
FF = forward facing or formula fed, just look at the context to figure out which..
TTC = trying to concieve (a baby)
LO = little one, meaning baby
SO = significant other
DB = dumb husband
BG = Baby Gaga, the parenting website I spend the better part of my life on..

Hugs, Kisses & Candy
Coop

REVIEW Luna By: Julie Anne Peters



Regan's brother Liam can't stand the person he is during the day. Like the moon from whom Liam has chosen his female namesake, his true self, Luna, only reveals herself at night-in the secrecy of his basement bedroom Liam transforms himself into the beautiful girl he longs to be, with help from his sister's clothes and makeup. Now, everything is about to change-Luna is preparing to emerge from her cocoon. But are Liam's family and friends ready to welcome Luna into their lives? Compelling and provocative, this is an unforgettable novel about a transgender teen's struggle for self-identity and acceptance.

My Review 
My Rating: 6/5

Yes, I meant to write 6 out of 5..because I mean it. This book was absolutely amazing!!

The book starts out on a wonderful, intriguing, note; a scene showing the unconditional love existing between siblings. Which is a theme throughout the whole book. I loved seeing the relationship between Re (main character) and her transsexual brother Liam. Liam is a good looking, hard working genius by day and a beautiful, fun loving girl by night. Thus the name Luna. So fitting for a girl who can only be seen by night.

This book centers around these two sisters and Re's struggle to find a balance between living her own life and helping her sister through all her highs and lows. This book follows the sisters through the start of Liam's transition to becoming a woman. Starting with Luna's first trip to the mall and school, and ending.. well, I don't want to ruin it for you. 

 All the characters were well done. They were so realistic, they had pasts, friendships, hardships and flaws just like everyone does. The sibling bond between Re and Liam was a bit distorted by the fact that Re wanted to save Liam from the world... to save him from judgment and harm, two things that Re had a hard time understanding would be a regular part of transitioning.

Throw in a complicated family situation, a cute boyfriend and a best friend in denial and you have the full package. Amazing, that's the only word I can use to describe it. There was never a dull moment, I loved every single sentence of this book and ate it up in less than a day.

I suggest this book to everyone I know. Absolutely fantastic. Good job Julie Anne Peters, another fantastic book out of you... I'm not surprised.


Hugs, Kisses & Candy
Coop.

Amazing Book Giveaway!!

They're giving away 5 books, but hurry. It closes soon!
Good Luck!!

Hugs, Kisses & Candy
Coop

It's Been Decided

The next book I'll be reviewing is A Summer In The Land of Skin. I'm nearly done it so the review should be up in a few days :)

Hugs, Kisses & Candy
Coop

Monday, August 16, 2010

Kohl's Giveaway

Hey guys, there's a great give away going on at Trying To Stay Calm.
A $100 gift card!!!!!

enter here


and good luck :)

Hugs, Kisses & Candy
Coop

Damn..

I promised myself I never would... but I did it.....








I tweeted.


Follow me on twitter :)

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Breaking The Ice

Well hello there,  :)


On this blog I'll be reviewing whatever books I'm reading and, my favorite part, giving some books away to other lucky readers!!!! (open to Canadian and US readers) I'll make a later post explaining how to enter.

At the end of the week I'll start my first review.

Hugs, Kisses & Candy
Coop.